Filter your results

By section:

By year:

By month:


Tag: Mental Health – Mental Health stories

Mental health and the power of words

– The following article was submitted by Paula Ramsay, a spouse of a serving Canadian Armed Forces member who has battled with an Operational Stress Injury. She is one of the co-founders of the Caregivers’ Brigade, and has completed the Social Service Worker program at Algonquin College. Ms. Ramsay was recently presented with a Liz Hoffman …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags:

Taking care of Primary Reservists

– A health and well-being assessment plan is now in place to better monitor the health care needs of the Primary Reserve Force. Without Primary reservists receiving regular health assessments, the CAF cannot guarantee they are fit to train, to participate in exercises, to be employed, or to be ready to respond to domestic emergencies, such …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags: |

Peer support work “really hits home” for Petawawa soldiers

– Petawawa, Ontario The soldiers behind a peer support program at 4th Canadian Division Support Base Petawawa in Ontario say the program has helped them as much as it has their comrades. Sergeant Graham Ridley and Corporal Saxon Murray, both members of 2 Combat Engineer Regiment (2 CER), bring their own experiences with operational stress injury …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags: |

Mental Health -Talking about Addiction…

– This is the last in the series of articles on addiction, and discusses the system in place to support Canadian Armed Forces members dealing with addiction issues. When a CAF member has an addiction issue, in most situations addiction and Medical Employment Limitations (MELs) will be appropriate. After all, MELs exist to protect the member …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags: |

Talking about Suicide: Watch for signs

– Though Mental Illness Awareness Week has ended we still need to be vigilant of the signs as on any given day, 11 people in Canada will die by suicide. Defence Team members are not immune to this issue. One of the most powerful ways we can assist a person considering suicide is by intervening, and …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags:

22 push ups from RMCC

– Royal Military College of Canada held a campus-wide 22 Push-up Challenge on the parade square September 9. The social media movement was originally designed to bring awareness to the average number of 22 American veterans who commit suicide every day, and to get people to think about mental health amongst international veterans, first responders and …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags: |

Genetic sequencing could help diagnose PTSD

– Defence research scientists are developing a study on how post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) may be linked to certain genes, which may help with diagnosis and treatment. Every person has a particular set of genes that act like recipes for a variety of traits. Some human genes are different depending on the person. These are the …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags: |

2016 Addictions Awareness Campaign: Know where to draw the line 12 -26 Nov

–   This year’s Addictions Awareness Campaign, which takes place from November 12 to 26, focuses on being aware of the choices we make that can keep us safe and healthy. The goal of the campaign is to promote an addiction-free lifestyle for the entire CAF community by providing information, resources, and activities. Objectives of this …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags: |

What to do when you don’t feel mentally healthy

– “Hello…How are you?” is a familiar greeting and we usually don’t put much thought into the response. Our reply is usually, “Fine, how are you?”  But what happens when you are not fine? What happens when you are feeling blue, edgy, or even having thoughts of suicide? How do you tell someone you are not …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags:

Filtrer vos résultats

Par section :

Par année :

Par mois :


Étiquette : Santé mentale – Histoires de santé mentale

La santé mentale et le pouvoir des mots

– L’article qui suit a été rédigé par Paula Ramsay, la conjointe d’un militaire des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) ayant souffert d’une blessure de stress opérationnel. Elle est l’une des cofondatrices de la Caregivers’ Brigade, et elle détient un diplôme en travail social du Collège Algonquin. Lutter contre les préjugés associés à la santé mentale est …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes :

Examens médicaux périodiques – Faire en sorte que les membres de la Première réserve en profitent

– Un plan d’examens médicaux et de bien-être est maintenant mis en place pour mieux administrer les besoins en soins de santé des membres de la Première réserve. Forte de ses près de 27 000 membres, la Première réserve est une composante essentielle des Forces armées canadiennes et de l’ensemble de la communauté de la Défense. Au cours …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes : |

L’efficacité du travail de soutien par les pairs à Petawawa

– Petawawa, Ontario Des militaires responsables du programme de soutien par les pairs de la base de soutien de la 4e Division du Canada Petawawa, en Ontario, disent que celui-ci s’est révélé aussi utile à eux qu’à leurs camarades. Le sergent Graham Ridley et le caporal Saxon Murray, du 2e Régiment de génie de combat (2 …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes : |

La santé mentale : la dépendance

– Le présent article est le dernier d’une série sur la dépendance; il traite du système créé afin de soutenir les militaires canadiens qui ont des problèmes de dépendance. Lorsqu’un militaire souffre d’un problème de dépendance, dans la plupart des cas, des contraintes à l’emploi pour raisons médicales (CERM) s’imposent. Après tout, les CERM visent à …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes : |

Parler du suicide : savoir reconnaître les signes

– Bien que la Semaine de sensibilisation aux maladies mentales soit terminée, nous devons demeurer vigilants : tous les jours, 11 personnes se suicident au Canada. Les membres de la Défense nationale n’échappent pas à ce problème.  L’intervention est la meilleure manière d’aider quelqu’un qui envisage de se suicider, et la meilleure intervention consiste à parler aux gens …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes :

22 push ups from RMCC

– Royal Military College of Canada held a campus-wide 22 Push-up Challenge on the parade square September 9. The social media movement was originally designed to bring awareness to the average number of 22 American veterans who commit suicide every day, and to get people to think about mental health amongst international veterans, first responders and …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes : |

Le séquençage génétique pourrait faciliter le diagnostic de l’ESPT

– Des chercheurs dans le domaine de la défense mènent une étude qui vise à déterminer en quoi l’état de stress post-traumatique (ESPT) serait lié à certains gènes, ce qui pourrait faciliter le diagnostic et le traitement de la maladie. Toute personne dispose d’un ensemble de gènes particulier qui engendre diverses caractéristiques. Certains gènes diffèrent selon …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes : |

La Campagne de sensibilisation aux toxicomanies de 2016, du 12 au 26 novembre 2016

–   La Campagne de sensibilisation aux dépendances de 2016, qui se déroulera du 12 au 26 novembre, met l’accent sur les choix que nous faisons qui peuvent contribuer à notre sécurité et à notre santé. La campagne vise à favoriser un mode de vie sans dépendances dans l’ensemble de la collectivité des FAC, en offrant à celle-ci de l’information, des …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes : |

Que faire lorsque la santé mentale n’est pas au rendez-vous

– « Salut. Ça va? » Voilà une formule familière à laquelle nous répondons généralement sans trop réfléchir : « Ça va bien, merci. Et toi? » Mais qu’arrive-t-il lorsque vous ne vous sentez pas bien? Que répondez-vous lorsque vous vous sentez abattu ou irritable, ou que vous avez des pensées suicidaires? Comment dites-vous à quelqu’un que ça ne va …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes :